Sunday #51: December 16, 2012 – I’m Dreaming of a Green Christmas

Today I took a pre-Christmas road trip to visit a friend about an hour away. In the car on the way, bundled in my winter coat, scarf and gloves, I looked out over the land covered in snow and the trees stripped of their leaves. All I could think was how I’d rather be almost anywhere else for Christmas than here in the snow and cold of winter. I thought about how lovely it used to be to have Christmas in Abu Dhabi and sit on the outdoor terrace to eat my turkey and feel the warm breeze off the Arabian Gulf. I am not nostalgic about much of my life in the UAE, but I do miss the loveliness of the winters. I also miss the frequency with which we used to be able to get away and take a trip. Those days are long behind us now, and I feel wistful for them right now, after we have already had 6 weeks of winter, and it’s only mid-December.

So, as I drove back from Wetaskiwin, in the dark at 6 p.m., I thought to myself that, unlike Bing Crosby, I am not dreaming of white Christmas; I’m dreaming of green Christmas. That thought led to this poem about my wishes for the holidays.

I’m dreaming of a green Christmas
Just like the ones I used to know
Where the trees tops sway
And the adults play
With straws in their frosty drinks

I’m dreaming of a green Christmas
With every Christmas wish I dream
May your days be warm and serene
And may all
Your Christmases be green

It’s perhaps not a classic that will catch on, but it is where my heart is today.

 

This entry was posted in 52 Sundays, Christmas, Edmonton and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

